Movies of 2017

As good as 2016 was for films, it only gets better as we step into 2017.

There is a wide range of new films coming out that people of all interests can enjoy. Some include sequels to last years box office hits and potential stand alone successes. Below is a list of a few I am looking forward to releasing and a few I’m curious about.

JUSTICE LEAGUE

This is basically the ultimate DC superheroes films, some of the most iconic DC heroes fighting against a common enemy. In this film you’ll see the likes of Wonder Woman, Batman, The Flash, Superman, Mera and Aquaman. But of course this film isn’t complete without the faithful ‘mortals’ such as Lois Lane and Iris West, Jesse Eisenburg is also reprising his role as Lex Luthor.

Release date: 17 November 2017 (USA)

THOR: RAGNAROK

For years now, Thor has been one of my favourite Marvel Superheroes so I am beyond excited to see this film. The third film of the Thor trilogy has one hell of a cast! Not only does it has Chris Hemsworth, obviously, it also stars Idris Elba, Cate Blanchett, Anthony Hopkins, Tom Hiddleston, Karl Urban, Mark Ruffalo, Jeff Goldblum and Benedict Cumberbatch as Doctor Strange. Not to mention it is directed by the hilarious Taika Waititi, a kiwi actor, writer and director.

Release date: 3 November 2017 (USA)

thor-ragnarok-concept-art

GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY VOL 2

Chris Pratt. Baby Groot. Marvel. Have I sold it to you yet?

Vol 2 is the sequel to the very successful 2014 film, Guardians of the Galaxy. Coming from director, James Gunn, this is set for success and most probably, another killer soundtrack. Aside form that fact that I absolutely loved the first film, one thing that’s got me itching for this films release is Sylvester Stallone.Although his names appears on the cast list, everything has been very hush hush about his role, unless he’s there for some boxing lessons, I can’t say much about it. I do have a hunch but I might talk about that another time….

Release date: 5 May 2017 (USA)

THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE

Honestly, I never thought I would be looking forward so much for a Lego film as I am with this. In terms of how much I know about the plot, I only know what the trailers have shown. However, what the trailers do show is a glimpse if what seems to be a highly funny film filled with plenty of great characters, such as Harley Quinn, Alfred Pennyworth, Batgirl, The Joker, Robin and Two-Face. From the previous Lego Movie, Will Arnett is voicing Batman alongside the voices of Michael Cera, Zach Galifianakis and Mariah Carey.

Release date: 10 February 2017 (USA)

STAR WARS: EPISODE VIII

In this Star Wars episode we will see the continuation from The Force Awakens with Rey, Poe, Finn and at last, Luke Skywalker. Characters from the previous film we will also be seeing again in this sequel is General Hux, Captain Phasma, Kylo Ren and Supreme Leader Snoke. With such a late release date, not much has been revealed about this particular film and it’s plot but I am intrigued to find out how they will handle Leia’s future due to the late Carrie Fisher’s untimely passing. On another note, all debates about Rey’s parentage and, hopefully, be put to rest as her family and past is explored and revealed.

Release date: 15 December 2017 (USA)

KONG: SKULL ISLAND

The story of the Myth that is Kong hasn’t been on the big screen since the 2005 film, King Kong, until now. With an excellent cast and gripping plot, this film is sure to be a rapid success, in my books anyway. But with Tom Hiddleston, Brie Larson, Samuel L. Jackson, John Goodman and John C. Reilly, how could you go wrong? Since the previous Kong film was released, a lot had changed in the film leading me to think that Skull Island is to have more action and an even more menacing Kong.

Release date: 10 March 2017 (USA)

LOGAN

Set to be the final Wolverine film, Hugh Jackman is finally going to hang up his adamantium claws (unless things change….), but I don’t think I’ll ever be able to see anyone else as this Marvel hero. Alongside him is this film is Patrick Stewart, as Professor X, as they try to protect a young female clone of Wolverine. There has also been speculation that a cameo from the fan favourite, Deadpool however, I can say that I have no idea whether or not these rumors are true. Regardless, this is a film I am looking forward to.

Release date: 3 March 2017 (USA)

SPIDER-MAN: HOMECOMING

This is definitely one of the films that I am looking forward to the most, mainly because Spider-man is and has been for a long time, my favourite Marvel hero. Being the third adaption of the popular superhero, there has been a lot of talk around it’s release. Specifically the new leading man, Tom Holland. It was Tobey Maguire’s trilogy that probably got me into Spider-Man and all of Marvel. I loved Andrew Garfield as Spider-Man so I have somewhat of a high expectation for Holland’s Hero. Although seeing his appearance in Civil War, I have no doubt that he will do very well. The cast also includes Robert Downey Jr.’s Tony Stark, Donald Glover, Zendaya, and Michael Keaton as the films villain. Screenplays have a big part of a film success and this particular film’s screenplay is co-written by John Francis Daley who I love as an actor, writer and director so needless to say I am very excited to watch this film!

Release date: 7 July 2017 (USA)

spidermanlarge

PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN: DEAD MEN TELL NO TALES

I love Pirates of the Caribbean, every time they announced another film I just think, that’s another one to add to one of my favourite series! With reprising roles from Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom, Geoffrey Rush and a new character played by Kaya Scodelario, this film could not get any better. If I’m being completely honest, one of my favourite things about these films is of course the theme song, once it’s in your head it won’t get out. Just like the previous story lines, Dead Men Tell No Tales has a peculiar plot. With Captain Jack Sparrow on the search for the Trident of Poseidon, epicness can be expected.

Release date: 26 May 2017 (USA)

pirates0004

THE MUMMY

No matter the opinions of others, I actually like the original Mummy films and am looking forward to checking out the new one. One thing I am most interested in seeing in this film is the leading man, Tom Cruise. I was surprised when I read the announcement that he will be leading the film, however, I will not make any judgement on it until I see the film. The plot of The Mummy does ensue many upon many action scenes, which isn’t particularly a bad thing, but it can be over done.The films cast however does include Russell Crowe and Jake Johnson who usually do justice to their roles. Looking forward to it.

Release date: 9 June 2017 (USA)

WORLD WAR Z 2

Although very little has been announced about this film, other than Brad Pitt is reprising his role as Gerry Lane, I’m hanging out for hear more about it. From what I recall, the reaction from the first World War Z wasn’t all that great but I actually, sort of, liked it. I think part of the reason is because I love zombies and anything with zombies pulls my attention. Hopefully more will be released soon.

Release date: …. 2017 (USA)

JUMANJI

Since the announcement of this film, there has been a lot of backlash against the remake of the original starring Robin Williams. But this film is not a remake, rather a sequel.  Admittedly, I was one of those disagreeing with the decision on remaking Jumanji, however, now I’m intrigued to see how this sequel will compare almost 22 years later. One thing I can already approve is the cast, Dwayne Johnson, Karen Gillan, Kevin Hart, Jack Black, Alex Wolff, Rhys Darby and Nick Jonas. I can’t wait to see if anyone will slowly become a monkey.

Release date: 22 December 2017 (USA)

jumanji-first-photo-2

PITCH PERFECT 3

Whoever thought about combining musical theatre with film is a genius, although not for everyone, I LOVE it. Pitch Perfect is probably my favourite modern musical, I really enjoyed the first two and cannot wait for the third. With the plot still under wraps but Anna Kendrick reprising her role as Beca, Hailee Steinfeld, Elizabeth Banks, Brittany Snow, Rebel Wilson and Anna Camp it’s sure to be as funny and catchy as the previous 2.

Release date: 22 December 2017 (USA)

There are plenty more films being released in 2017 that I am excited for but I didn’t want this list to go on forever. I will be writing my thoughts on each of these films as I see them and hope they are as good as I want them to be.

Let me know what films you’re most looking forward to in 2017.

Live Long and Prosper – E

Leave a Reply

