Marvel phases

Movies in the Marvel Cinematic Universe each fit into a phase and each of the phases fit into the timeline. The end of the different phases are defined by an Avengers film. Each film in the first phase is set before the ‘battle of New York’ from The Avengers, phase two films are set post ‘battle of New York’ and the phase three films are set after the destruction of Ultron.

The first phase has been labelled both Avengers Assemble and the Avengers initiative. Simply because the films in this phase were set to introduce the main universe in which they’re set and each of the heroes who were to later form The Avengers. Films in this phase are Iron Man (2008), The Incredible Hulk (2008), Iron Man 2 (2010), Thor (2011), Captain America: The First Avenger (2011) and The Avengers (2012). Throughout all of these films we meet Iron Man, Thor, Captain America, Hulk, Black Widow, Hawkeye and Nick Fury. We are also introduced to the organisations S.H.I.E.L.D and HYDRA. During each of these films the focus is on the Tesseract which is later revealed to be one of the six infinity stones. In the final film of this phase the two villains, Loki and Thanos, ally together to steal the Tesseract and conquer earth, this is what leads to the formation of the Avengers.

Post New York battle is where Phase two of the MCU starts. Films in this phase are Iron Man 3 (2013), Thor: The Dark World (2013), Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014), Guardians of the Galaxy (2014), Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015) and Ant Man (2015). Marvels phase two also introduces us to the heroes Quicksilver, Falcon, Scarlet Witch, Vision, Ant Man and the Guardians of the Galaxy (which consists of Starlord, Gamora, Drax the Destroyer, Rocket the Raccoon and Groot). The origins of the infinity stones is further explored and is also revealed that HYDRA is operating within S.H.I.E.L.D leading to its collapse. The collapse of this organisation leads to the Avengers to work solo against the HYDRA threat resulting in the creation of the artificial intelligence, Ultron.

So far in phase three, only two films have been released. Those two films being Captain America: Civil War (2016) and Doctor Strange (2016). These introduced us to more heroes, who will continue to appear further into the phase. Amongst these new heroes are Doctor Strange, Black Panther, Spiderman and later to be met is Captain Marvel. Thanos’ plan to collect all infinity stones, which began late in phase one, will be brought to a close at the end of this phase.

Although I am looking forward to all the new Marvel films this year, I’m most excited for Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol 2 and Spider-man Homecoming. 

Which Marvel film in 2017 are you most looking forward to?

Live Long And Prosper – E


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s