My Top 10 Musicals

Whether old or new, Musicals will always get me singing and tapping my toes along to the music that is ever-so catchy. I wrote down a list of all the Musicals I know and managed to wind it down to a short list of only 10. This is a list of my top 10 favourite Musicals and, if you haven’t already seen them, they’re recommendations.

SINGIN’ IN THE RAIN

You can’t get a more classic Musical than Singin’ in the Rain. Full of tap dancing, songs that get stuck in your head and, well, rain. Any fan of Musicals is going to watch this and never want to stop it, but rather stay up past midnight just to get the satisfaction of singin’ ‘Good Mornin”. Starring the legendary Gene Kelly, Donald O’Connor and the late Debbie Reynolds, this is one that will never get old. I’ve always thought how fun it would’ve have been to be a part of the ‘All I do is dream of you’ sequence, throwing candy and pulling some pretty funky moves. As remakes seem to be the trend lately, I would like to say now that this is one film I believe should be left alone and stay as the beautifully classic Musical that it is.

OLIVER!

I remember my first time seeing Oliver!. It was in the theatre when I was around 5-6 and we went to see it on a school trip. I got a terrible blood blister on my finger, but I do recall where I was sitting, looking down at what was probably my first theatre experience. This Musical contains some songs that will never be forgotten such as ‘Food Glorious Food’ and my personal favourite, ‘Consider Yourself’. Oddly enough, Oliver! seemed to keep popping up during my school years as we sung its’ songs in choir, perhaps that is why this Musical and these songs have stuck with me for so long.

GREASE

If you were to ask me to name an iconic song from a Musical, ‘Greased Lighting’ will surely pop straight into my head. I feel like it’s the kind of movie you bring out on a movie night, or any occasion really, at least I would. Grease is another classic film and being set in the 50s, it has some great costuming, dancing and the songs are truly one of a kind. For every actor, there a certain films that stand out in their career and for me, this is definitely one of them for John Travolta. I don’t know how he does it but in this film, Travolta has this attitude and somehow brings it out even in the way he walks. Grease will continue to live on as one of the best Musicals.

CHICAGO

One of my favourite songs to sing along to is actually from Chicago, that being ‘Cell Block Tango’. The six murderesses certainly come together and sing an unforgettable song. Back in 2012 I went and saw a theatre production of Chicago which was incredible and made me like the musical even more. I think what makes this musical that much more interesting is it’s background, based on a play of the same name from 1926 written by a reporter about actual crimes and criminals she reported on. The costumes and sets in the different renditions of this musical makes for a truly visual masterpiece.

MARY POPPINS

‘chim chim cher-ee’ is about chimney sweeping yet it’s such a good song, how can a song about chimney sweeping be so good. Answer, it just is and has become a classic. Mary Poppins has plenty of classic songs, including the ultimate song ‘supercalifragilisticexpialidocious’. I don’t think anyone could sing that song any better than Julie Andrews. But who could forget when Mary Poppins flew away with her umbrella, iconic. But in 2018 we will be given another film titled, Mary Poppins Returns, starring Emily Blunt, Meryl Streep and Colin Firth. Really looking forward to seeing what it’s all about.

THE ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW

Let me ask, who doesn’t like to do the time warp? This is another example of a classic film becoming a remake, although I’m not too sure about it, I’m not going to judge it before I see it. The original was so great that it’s fandom is almost considered a cult and is still worshiped today with annual showings and people dressing up as their much beloved characters.

MAMMA MIA

This is another one I’ve seen in theatre and absolutely loved. Whoever thought about putting a bunch of Abbas best songs together into a musical, honestly, is a genius. Mamma Mia is something you can sing along to from beginning to end, which is exactly what you want in a musical. Not only are the songs amazing, but the casting was done very, very well. Although you can’t go wrong with casting Meryl Streep.

LES MISÉRABLES

It’s not often you get a musical that’s consists of almost entirely singing, but Les Misérables is exactly that and is one hell of a classic. I for sure would love to see this in theatre, I can only imagine how incredible it would be. The 2012 film did have a great cast, Hugh Jackman and Eddie Redmayne just make up two of the many actors and actresses who made this amazing film.

THE LION KING

I think this is one of the only films I grew up watching that was a musical, but whatever you watch as a child always stays with you. Is it too much to say that The Lion King has some of the best original song of any musical? I mean you can’t help but sing along to ‘Hakuna Matata’.

That was just a short list of some of the musicals that I love. It was quite difficult to get the list down to 10 but I managed and although I wish I could’ve put them all down but otherwise I would’ve gone on for ages!

Let me know what some of your favourite musicals are.

Live Long And Prosper – E

Leave a Reply

